About Baird Institute
The Baird Institute lies in the centre of the town of Cumnock and was opened in March 1891 to provide leisure facilities for local people and included a museum, billiard room and reading rooms.
Today it holds collections of Mauchline Ware of world importance complimented by many items of Cumnock Pottery as well as a wide range of resources which relate to the history of Cumnock and the Doon Valley area – museum collections, archives, photographs, audio visual materials, books, maps and newspapers. One room is also dedicated to James Keir Hardie, founder of the Labour Party and contains many of his personal belongings.
Combine this with a continually changing catalogue of contemporary art exhibitions and a range of events and workshops taking place throughout the year and a visit to the Baird Institute will be worthwhile, whatever your interest.
The funding for the erection of the Baird came from John Baird who, in his will, bequeathed money for a public building in Cumnock. The building was designed by Mr Robert Ingram of Kilmarnock and was opened in March 1891 and is in the Scottish Baronial style, constructed from local Mauchline and Auchinleck pink sandstone. All rooms were illuminated with gas lighting, each with Irish white marble fireplaces except for the one in the Billiards Room which was made from Italian black and gold marble.
The venue recently underwent a £650,000 worth of refurbishment and was awarded a four star visitor attraction status by Visit Scotland.
For details on the latest exhibitions at the Baird Institute or to discover more about its history and collections, use the links below.
School groups and groups are welcome by appointment. Email email@example.com and we’ll contact get in touch.Read Less
|Recommended Time:||2 - 3 hours|
|Opening Times:||Thursday - Saturday 11am - 5pm (Closed public holidays)|
|Indoors / Outdoors:||Indoors|
|Categories:||History Museums, Speciality Museums|